Winter Trout Fishing

Posted: February 22, 2007 in Hobbies

      So I got the chance the other week to get into Linville river for those of you curious ( 36° 0’43.25"N 81°55’54.26"W as Google earth has it). It was about as cold as you can get but it is amazing what some decent equipment does for you. I was as warm as a summer day. The only problem was my pole kept freezing (which my uncle points to as a prime warning that it is too cold to fish). i managed to work around that and actually got a decent sizes Brown Trout about half way through the excursion. So being skunked was not a problem. Granted I did not fill the creel but I love stream fishing so much that even a day where I catch nothing (which thankfully does not happen much), is still a great day for me.
    I took a friend with me this time who has never been stream fishing. He is a Bass fisher usually from shore. He had a ball, but did get skunked. This time of year is pretty challenging so if you are new, you tend to not have much luck. But it is a good time to get to know the river, it is a bit lower than spring and summer so you can see some of the pools and holes you normally would not and get a feel for the river. Linville in particular is a nice river to fish. Not a lot of obstacles, good habitat, nice collection of riffles, pools, current, some good deep sections that serve you well in the summer when the trout go deep. In the area I tend to hit on Linville, there are a few good access points and specific routes you take depending on the company. From the coordinates I gave up abouve you can fish the from the low bridge upstream if you want some challenge and some really sweet wading (I woiuld rate the hike as moderate). If you go downstream to the next bridge you get the most production section for me. I have rarely been skunked on that route. 
    As a warning, if you ever do go there. pay some respect to the forestry service guys they do not have to let you trounce across their property to get to the river, so WALK the driveway and don’t make a ton of noise and especially no messes. If you go downstream you will reach a white house which is almost right on the river, the dude has his property done up nice. I have met him a couple times. Sometimes his dog goes insane when you wade through so wade on by and leave the pool in front of his house for him. In NC they can post the streams and he ha sbeen gracious enough to not post despite some very inconsiderate folks going by from time to time.
  Anyway, if you ever do go this route, drop me a line and let me know how it goes. It is definitely a nice route, not as isolated as I would like but not too shabby either.
Leave a Reply

