Fun with MOSS Resource files

Posted: April 2, 2008 in MOSS 2007

                How many times have you gone through MOSS and looked at labels, descriptions, grid headers, etc, on the standard MOSS UI and thought, “Man…what I would not give to be able to change that wording!”? 

After attending an architecture class in Atlanta with Bill English, my mischievous streak got the better of me, and I set out to figure that out myself.  I started with the “Application Management” page in central administration, otherwise known as applications.aspx.  I had assumed that the text was maybe somewhere in the DB. Given the Central admin content DB is actually not that large, I dove in and set out to find the point where this text constant was defined. To my dismay, I only found the text from the navigation/menu bar. This text can be changed through the MOSS site settings UI in central admin, I would not recommend running UPDATE queries directly to the MOSS DB. While I am on that topic, keep in mind this expedition was conducted on a virtual, please do not crack open the DB for fun on a production server.  This may seem like extreme common sense however, we all know common sense is not always that common.  If you crack open the MOSS DB on your production server and screw it up by making what you think is a minor change, well do not expect MS to be too helpful when you call support.

Back to the hunt, After failing in the DB it occurred to me, that maybe just maybe there was a config/resource file guiding these constants. After all, MOSS is available in a ton of languages, and I could not imagine MS embedded all these text constants into the binaries for MOSS. To my surprise, indeed, MS has embedded a TON of those string literals your find throughout MOSS in a series of resource files which are located in the inetpubwwwrootwssvirtualDirectories<web app dir>App_GlobalResources folder. The one I was looking for, “Application Management”,was in the SPAdmin.en-US.resx file. So I spent a few minutes having some fun, modified the “Application Management” to “Application Manglement”. Changed a mess of the page descriptions, link text, even removed the “Zones” text and renamed it to “Incoming Vectors”, a term an instructor mentioned in a class which better describes the use of those values.

So, in practicality, is there any use to this beyond having some fun and getting a little more insight into lower level design in MOSS? Well, I could certainly see some of my clients, particularly those who were more hung up on some of the wording in MOSS taking a good look into this. There are a LOT of resx files, A lot of values to modify. Is this something you would want to do? Maybe, but keep in mind if you did decide to take this and put it to use in a productive way:

1.        Back up your original resx files.

2.       You will need to modify these on each WFE.

3.       You will need to add these modified files to your backup/restore planning.

 One more “little” thing. I would not in the slightest expect MS to be in a position to have tested what would happen to their application when folks modified the resx files. I have not tested this full fledged in a large farm, and I cannot guarantee that there is not some embedded code in the bowels of MOSS, that would go beserk when you modify these values. I would expect that you would be fine, after all this is what resx file usage is for, and embedding resx values (vs keys) into your app sort of defeats the purpose of having one. However, MS still hires humans to do their development, so I cannot guarantee that they always follow best practices. That being said, it is awfully fun to mess with

Leave a Reply

