MSDN Labs: The sandboxed code execution request was refused because the Sandboxed Code Host Service was too busy to handle the request

Posted: March 23, 2011 in SharePoint 2010

I have been seriously neglecting this blog so I thought I would attempt to stop that trend by posting up on some of what I have been doing. Along with heavy client work, I have been living on the MSDN and technet labs for 2010. If you have not seen them, (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/cc707678) and (http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/virtuallabs/bb512933) , they are more than worth your time. I got my 2010 certs but with all the bouncing from 2007 to 2010, things can get sideways in your head. These labs help you to refocus where you need to.

Anyway back to the point, I was doing the Sandboxed Solution with Web Parts lab and ran into an issue. I coded the hello world WP and deployed it. When trying to add it to a page I got “The sandboxed code execution request was refused because the Sandboxed Code Host Service was too busy to handle the request”. Now these labs are not always fast, and timeouts are common, so I tried simply resubmitting a few times to no avail. So I jumped on Bing and came up with this post http://blogs.msdn.com/b/sharepointdev/archive/2011/02/08/error-the-sandboxed-code-execution-request-was-refused-because-the-sandboxed-code-host-service-was-too-busy-to-handle-the-request.asp that set me straight.

The services were all started but when I got into the registry the State key was 23c00. I set it to the 23e00 as the post directed and it was “lab on”. Apparently this is also something you will run into in the “real” world so really it was a good experience. One more little caveat to plug into your brains.

Leave a Reply

