Converting VMWare VMDK to Hyper-V VHD on Windows 8

Posted: March 25, 2013 in Technical, Uncategorized

So like many SharePoint guys using Windows 8, I LOVE having Hyper-V. It has been a long while since we had a Microsoft 64 bit virtualization technology built-in or otherwise for our non server OS’. In that time I have used Oracle’s virtualization app and of course VMWare player.

So flash forward to Windows 8 Pro, got my Hyper-V working and I have a huge library of VMWare virtuals. So ok, surely there is something to convert these built into Hyper-V on Windows 8 right? Well that is where you would be wrong. A quick Bing for this information pulled up a pile of free/share ware that either gave me a 404 or when found would attempt install spyware or some other garbage and then of course would not even work. Frustration did not being to describe the feeling and the dark vocabulary that I spewed at such a gap in capability.

In my preparation for having to uninstall Hyper-V from Win 8 and go back to VMWare, I came across a tool I had not heard of called the “Microsoft Virtual Machine Converter” (located here: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh967435.aspx. ). Dare I say, this little nugget was the answer to my prayers. Simply install it, and you are good to go.

Now, in my case I just wanted to convert the VMDK to a VHD. So no reason to launch the UI at all, simply open a command prompt (the .exe is installed at “C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Virtual Machine Converter Solution Accelerator: by default) and run a command “MVDC.EXE <source VMDK> <target VHD>:” and whammo. Good to go!

There is a lot of capability in this little tool beyond my simple case but as I have been hit by many expletive laden comments on just simply wanting to convert a VMDK to VHD, I thought I would share with the internets. Good luck everyone!

Comments
  1. Zenden8686 says:

    thats awesome, thanks for this 🙂

  2. VeV says:

    With Microsoft Virtual Machine Converter 3.0/3.1

    PS C:\> Import-Module “C:\Program Files\Microsoft Virtual Machine Converter\MvmcCmdlet.psd1”

    PS C:\> ConvertTo-MvmcVhd

    >> enter vmdk path

Leave a Reply

